Tag: 7 chakras

7 chakras – what are they?

You hear people talking about chakras all over the place today, but you may be wondering what are chakras anyway? While it may seem hokey or surreal, there has been much study and focus on the 7 chakras over the centuries.  My personal experience has led me to know they are absolutely real. Once you know what they are and begin working with them, your life will change for the better.


What are chakras?

Chakras are the energy centers in your body.  Eastern medicine discovered the chakras (also called meridians) thousands of years ago, but the terms have only recently been discovered by the west.  Chiropractors use a device to measure energy vibrations in your spine. A chiropractor friend of mine showed me how the numbers on the device went up when passing over each chakra, it was very cool to see. You have many chakras throughout your body, but there are seven main chakras that run from the base of your spine up to the top of your head.  They’re like invisible balls of light within you, each one about the size of your fist.

Where are the 7 chakras?

Imagine seven colored balls of light running up and down your spine.  Though your chakras aren’t visible to the human eye, they can truly be felt when you learn to tap into them.  Now that you know what are chakras, you’ll be aware of them from now on.

Your seven main chakras are your Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and Crown.

7 chakras diagram
You have 7 major chakras running from your tailbone up to the top of your head

What do the 7 chakras do?

Each one of your chakras generates the energy and essence of certain aspect of your life.  Emotions, for example, are housed in your Sacral Chakra.  That’s why when you get upset you feel it in your stomach.  Old energy can become stuck in your chakras causing them to become clogged or partially closed.  Your chakras can also be overactive, causing an imbalance.  Often the Throat chakra can be overactive causing people to talk too much, yell or gossip a lot.  Through meditation and emotional healing work, you can open and balance your chakras which helps you enjoy a more balanced and joyful life.


Where can I learn more about my 7 chakras?

Here are articles I wrote explaining more about  what each chakra is, where it’s located, what aspects of your life it runs.  We’ll talk about some of the common reasons it gets clogged, and some tips for opening and clearing your chakras.


Aromatherapy can help you focus on your chakras

You my find the use of aromatherapy tools helpful when working with your chakras.  Scent triggers certain feelings within you, this is really powerful when working with your chakras during meditation. Smelling a certain type of scent can activate an energetic feeling in your body that makes the inner work you’re doing easier and more pleasurable.  For instance, when working with your root chakra, if you smell an earthy scent it helps you feel instantly more grounded.  Whereas, sandalwood scent invokes a sensation in my throat when I smell it.  Meditation and energy work are just more fun when you engage your senses.  Scentual Goddess carries a full array of handmade chakra healing tools including Chakra SpraysChakra Oils and Chakra Candles.